Skip to content
left end
left end
right end

Meet the team

Management team, Divisional director for specialised services

Owen Ainsley, Divisional Director for Specialised Services

Rachel Protheroe, Clinical chair for Specialised Services

Sophie Nicholls, General manager for Bristol Heart Institute

Dr Palash Barman, Clinical Director

Becky Hocking, Divisional HR business partner

Jane Narayan, HR business partner

Stephanie Sage, HR businss partner

Helen Bishop, Head of Nursing

Angela Jackson, Deputy Head of Nursing

Sally Worfolk, Assistant General Manager

Vicky Beard, Performance and Operations Manager

Ismay Summer, Peformance and Operations Manager

Amanda Stark, Finance manager for Specialised Services

Katie Phelan, Assistant Finance Manager

Nursing teams in the Bristol Heart Institute

Helen Bishop is Head of Nursing for the Division of Specialised Services, which includes the Bristol Heart Institute. As Head of Nursing, Helen is responsible for overseeing the management and support of all nursing teams to ensure that the care for  patients is delivered safely, compassionately and is a high quality.

Helen Bishop 0117 342 6619 

Angela Jackson is the Deputy Head of Nursing with a focus on the Bristol Heart Institute. Angela is responsible for supporting the Head of Nursing in the delivery of nursing care and has a specific interest and focus on education, safegurading and clinical governance.

0117 3426619



Gemma Jones

Dennis Garcia

Hannah Moore

Toni Dorrington

 Lisa Thomas



Rachel Bohin is the catheter laboratory clinical manager. Sarah is part of the senior nurse team but also leads the multi professional team in this department.


Gemma Jones (Ward C705), Rachel Bohin (cardiology catheter laboratories and day case), Tom Rawlings (CCU),  (cardiac intensive care unit), Sue Monahan (Ward C805), Liz Leech (Ward C708) and Nicky Lukaszewicz are the ward/unit sisters who lead the teams of nurses in their clinical areas.

Clinical nurse specialists

Cardiology staff

Cardiac surgery staff

Adult congenital heart disease staff

Bristol Heart Rhythm

Mangement and clerical support teams

Cardiology staff

Consultant cardiologists

 Dr Julian Strange.
Secretary, Jacqui Wright, 0117 342 6574

Steve Dorman
Secretary, Jane Cleave, 0117 342 6692

EP lead - Glyn Thomas
Secretary, Maureen Sutherland, 0117 342 6572 

Ed Duncan
Secretary, Julie Georgewill, 0117 342 6695

Tom Johnson
Secretary, Zena Clothier, 0117 342 6573

Angus Nightingale
Secretary, Esme Yeadon-Ray, 0117 342 6622

Dr Mandie Townsend
Secretary, Julie Georgewill, 0117 342 6695

Dr Ihab Diab

Secretary Jane Cleave , 0117 3426692

Dr Ioannis Felekos

Secretary Zena Clothier, 0117 3426573

Dr Mark Mariathas

Secretary Zena Clothier,  0117 3426573

Dr Ashley Nisbet

Secretary Jacqui Wright, 0117 3426574

Dr Sharareh Vahabi

Secretary Oscar Whyte  0117 3426639

Dr Nik Joshi

Secretary, Rachel Frost  0117 3425974

Dr Victoria North

Secretary Lisa Curthoys 0117 3425967

Dr Gavin Richard

Secretary  Maureen Sutherland 0117 3426572

Dr Novalia Sidik

Secretary Maureen Sutherland  0117 3426572

Associate specialist

Nabil Tumia 

Clinical nurse specialists

HEART team (acute coronary syndrome and cardiac rehabilitation)

Team leader - Daniel Thomas, nurse practitioner,

Heart failure

Bev Pearson

Hannah Lightfoot


Toni Dorrington

Secretary Caron Finn and Susan Davies 0117 3426595

Cardiac surgery staff

Consultant surgeons

Professor GD Angelini, British Heart Foundation professor of cardiac surgery

Secretary Debbie Chidzey, 0117 3426577

Professor  Raimondo Ascione, professor of cardiac surgical science and translational research

Secretary Debbie Chidzey, 0117 3426577

Professor Massimo Caputo, reader in cardiac surgery (paediatrics)

Secretary, Jo Lutz 0117 3426571

Franco Ciulli, Consultant Cardiac surgeon

Secretary Deb Griffiths, 0117 3426661

Andrew Parry, Consultant Cardiac surgeon (congenital)

Secretary Jo Lutz, 0117 3426571

Serban Stoica, consultant cardiac surgeon (congenital)

Secretary Jo Lutz, 0117 3426571

Mark Yeatman, consultant cardiac surgeon

Secretary, Deb Griffiths, 0117 3426661

Cha Rajakaruna, Consultant Cardiac Surgeon

Secretary, Annabelle Herron 0117 3426579

Eltayab Mohamed Ahmed, Consultant Cardiac Surgeon

Secretary, Annabelle Herron 0117 3426579

Hunaid Vohra, Consultant Cardiac Surgeon

Secretary Deb Griffiths, 0117 3426661

Dr Eva Sammut Dr Graham Stuart Dr Gergely Szantho

Secretary Debbie Strawford 0117 3426576 

Dr Mark Turner

Secretary Pamela Tasker 0117 3426575

Dr Stephanie Curtis

Secretary Lisa Curthoys 0117 3426967

ACHD Surgeons 

Secretary Jo Lutz  0117 3426571

Associate specialist

Mr Milan Bates 

Principal perfusionist

Mr Richard Downes 

Director of CICU 

Dr Amit Ranjan

Lead anaesthetist (cardiac)

Dr Martin Platt

Adult congential heart disease (GUCH) team


Lead clinician, Dr Stephanie Curtis

Dr Mark Turner

Dr Graham Stuart

Dr Radwa Badair

Dr Demetris Taliotis


Mr Andrew Parry

Mr Massimo Caputo

Mr Serban Stoica

Dr Shaffi Musa


Specialist nurses


Cardiac radiologists

Dr Mark Hamilton

Dr Nathan Manghat


Miss Sue Sellers

Miss Jo Trinder

Obstetric anaesthetists

Dr Issy Gardner

Dr Nicola Harvey

Dr Mike Kinsella

Dr Mark Scrutton 

Dr Nick Wharton

Bristol Heart Rhythm 

Dr Glyn Thomas, Consultant

Dr Ed Duncan, Consultant

Dr Palash Barman, Consultant

Dr Ashley Nisbet, Consultant

Dr Ihab Diab, Consultant