Skip to content
left end
left end
right end

Our duties

Equality & Diversity

Under the Equality Act 2010, the Trust has a duty to meet the needs of people with protected characteristics and reduce and eliminate the disadvantage that such groups suffer.

The Equality Act covers the following nine protected characteristics:

  • Age
  • Disability
  • Gender reassignment
  • Pregnancy and maternity
  • Race (includes ethnic or national origins, colour or nationality)
  • Religion or belief (includes no belief)
  • Sex
  • Sexual orientation 
  • Marriage and civil partnership

Public sector organisations such as the NHS have duties referred to as the Public Sector Equality Duty.  It consists of a general duty for public sector organisations to have due regard for the need to:

  • Eliminate unlawful discrimination, harassment and victimisation
  • Advance equality of opportunity between different groups
  • Foster good relations between different groups

There are also specific duties which are legal requirements.  These require the publication of:

  • Equality Objectives, at least every four years
  • Information to demonstrate compliance with the equality duty at least annually